Typing ₹ on Linux the Easy Way

Even though the new sign of the Indian Rupee has been added to Unicode way back in August 2010, I still see people using the Latin alphabets Rs to denote it. That’s because their keyboard most likely doesn’t have it. Or even if it does, it doesn’t work because they are using the wrong keyboard layout, usually English (US).

Obviously, it’s a pain in the donkey to have to open the character map every time. One workaround is to directly type its Unicode position using Ctrl + Shift + U20B9. I find even that a pain in the donkey.

The simplest solution is to change the keyboard layout.

Just go to System Settings or Settings Manager or whatever, and spot the Keyboard option. You should see an option to Add New Layout or something like that. Add a new one with these options:

  • Language: English
  • Layout: Indian
  • Variant: English (India, with RupeeSign)

If you don’t see that variant, you’re using a stone age distro. UPGRADE!

And don’t forget to make this the default layout. Once you’re done, you can type the ₹ sign simply by pressing Right Alt + 4. But then you won’t be able to use the Right Alt for other shortcuts though.

Hope this helped.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s